LEONID
BATALOV
Moscow, Russia
1994
Leonid is an architect, interdisciplinary artist. Graduated from Moscow Architectural Institute, during his studies he did an internship at the Moscow bureau "Meganom". He is engaged in the design of small architectural forms, participates in the creation of decorations for events and films, participates in exhibitions.

In 2018, he worked for Max Nuñez, an architecture firm in Chile, where he did a competitive design for a hotel in Patagoni, and later worked as a carpenter on a farm. There he laid his first roof, learned how to restore furniture and build houses from wood. This experience, according to Leni, narrowed the distance between design and construction.

Last summer, on the basis of the Auditorium educational space, he organized a research laboratory. The participants studied how a person can organize his autonomous habitat, observing himself and others, understanding how it is possible to adapt the surrounding space for himself. "It turned out that if you combine manual work and design, then interaction with the world around you is easier and faster. When you start treating architecture as painting, it becomes possible to design in the moment, "says Leonid. As a result of this laboratory, 5 art objects were installed in Moscow.

Participant of the De-Profundis group exhibition in the Golubitskaya art fund, the author of a study of the "alternative history of the Taman Peninsula" about how local residents see its past.

ЛЕОНИД
БАТАЛОВ
Москва, Россия
1994
Леонид архитектор, междисциплинарный художник. Окончил МАРХИ, во время обучения стажировался в московском бюро «Меганом». Занимается проектированием малых архитектурных форм, участвует в создании декораций для мероприятий и кино, участвует в выставках.

В 2018 году работал в архитектурном бюро Max Nuñez в Чили, где делал конкурсный проект отеля в Патагони, а позже работал плотником на ферме. Там он положил свою первую крышу, научился реставрировать мебель и строить дома из дерева. Этот опыт, по рассказу Лёни, сократил дистанцию между проектированием и строительством.

Летом прошлого года на базе учебного пространства «Аудитория», организовал исследовательскую лабораторию. Участники изучали как человек может организовать свое автономное место обитание, наблюдая за собой и за другими, понимая как возможно адаптировать под себя окружающее пространство. «Оказалось что если совмещать работу руками и проектирование, то взаимодействие с миром вокруг проще и быстрее. Начинаешь относится к архитектуре как к живописи, появляется возможность проектировать в моменте» — говорит Леонид. По итогам этой лаборатории в Москве были установлены 5 арт-объектов.

Участник групповой выставки De-Profundis в артфонде «Голубицкая», автор исследования «альтернативной истории Таманского полуострова» о том как местные жители видят его прошлое.